FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Right front door opening when landing
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaulePilots.Org Forum Index -> Mx, Repair & Technical questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jean Paul

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:54 pm    Post subject: Right front door opening when landing Reply with quote

Hello all Maulers!
I am the french happy owner and pilot of a 1991 MXT7-180 since 4 years. It suits very well my program. Like most of you I had various issues but with the
Mechanical we always found thé solution ...Except now !
This right door opens itself fréquently when landing and sometimes even when flying. On the ground it locks perfectly.
When learning to land on my private moutain strip(85/900 feet, climbing at 7,5%) I was a young pilot and had a lot of hard landings with big bounces.
I wonder if the frame could have been twisted or weakened or something broken?
There is nothing else wrong when flying or wheeling.
Does somebody among you have an idea to help me solve that issue?
Jeremy if you read me do you we have to look the frame? Where and How ?
Thank you for your advices and good summer flights!
Jean Paul
gbarrier
100+ Posts

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would guess more of a latch problem than an airframe problem. Lube the mechanism good and make sure it is going far enough into the striker plate on the fuselage. It can also be adjusted by removing the outside knob and knob screw and unscrew the plunger a couple of turns so it will penetrate farther. It may make more sense if you have a copy of the drawing from the parts CD.

The new door latches are pretty slick but if properly adjusted and lubed the old style work just fine and stay put when they are expected to.
maules.com
100+ Posts