looking for fellow Maule Owner in Florida

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
lou amato

Post by lou amato »

Hi all, I'm new to Mauledom, having picked up an M4 a couple of months ago. I'm looking forward to meeting TOm Gary who I understand is a new M4 owner from Orlando. My home is in Frostproof, about 30 miles from Lakeland.

Are there any other Florida Maule owners out there, and how about a fly in to get together and meet?

Lou Amato
Lou Amato
M4 180V
Frostproof, FL

a64pilot
100+ Posts

Post by a64pilot »

I'm in Albany GA. Not Fla., but I would like to attend a Fly-in. Central Fl. area is good for me, not too long a flight

Rocketman

Post by Rocketman »

lou amato wrote:Hi all, I'm new to Mauledom, having picked up an M4 a couple of months ago. I'm looking forward to meeting TOm Gary who I understand is a new M4 owner from Orlando. My home is in Frostproof, about 30 miles from Lakeland.

Are there any other Florida Maule owners out there, and how about a fly in to get together and meet?

Lou Amato
I would like to hear about your M4-180. Is it one of the new M4 you have?
I had an M4-220 for six years. I logged just shy of a thousand hours in. Those were the best years of my life and I miss my Maule.
I was based at the Keystone Heights Airport and I did a lot of flying in central Florida in the 90's.
As for the new M4, I would think one wouldn't miss the 40hp between the 180 and the 220 being lighter than the old M4. That would be my only concern. After having 220hp I wouldn't think I'd be happy with less power.
I flew an M5-235 for less than an hour once. I know that's not enough time to make friends with an airplane but I liked my M4 better. I think it was the extra weight of the 235 that made a difference to me in the takeoff and landing enviroment.
Anyway, I keep a close eye on the new M4 project and if I could figure a way to get my wife to go along with it, I'd have me one soon.
Real pilots fly airplanes built in Moultrie.