Garmin 696

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
Green Hornet
100+ Posts

Garmin 696

Post by Green Hornet »

All I want for Christmas in a recession :D

http://www.avshop.com/product/5430/130?r=newgarmin
1997-M7-235C, 540 I/O

WOC SPOT

210TC
100+ Posts

Post by 210TC »

Mauleaviator,
Check this out before you buy:

http://www.aviationsafety.com/

a64pilot
100+ Posts

Post by a64pilot »

210TC
100+ Posts

Post by 210TC »

A64,
Looks like the software is identical to Flight Cheetah. I wounder who developed the software or is it copied?
The only problem I have had using lap tops is SUN LITE interference. The nits are just not high enough.

a64pilot
100+ Posts

Post by a64pilot »

David,
I don't know what flight cheetah is, so I can't answer that. I've been flying with flight prep for four or five years, and they are the Duats people, so I assume they were copied, you know the "look and feel". I was going to post a photo of my setup, but gave up. I agree about the laptop, most are useless outside, plus they are heavy and cumbersome too. I use a tablet PC, specifically a Motion with the "view anywhere" display that is almost as bright as a Garmin. It's plenty bright enough, it's the opposite really that I would like improved. It won't get dark enough for a dark night for me.
It communicates with a tiny self contained bluetooth GPS and a blue tooth WX reciever and is mounted on the right side of my instrument panel.

210TC
100+ Posts

Post by 210TC »

Never had the issue about night lite come up before. That could drive one crazy.

Pat

Post by Pat »

Does anyone have feedback on the Garmin 696?

I wonder about mounting it. Does the yoke mount work well in the Maule or has anyone found a better mount?

Pat

Green Hornet
100+ Posts

Post by Green Hornet »

Pat wrote:Does anyone have feedback on the Garmin 696?

I wonder about mounting it. Does the yoke mount work well in the Maule or has anyone found a better mount?

Pat