problem: stuck rudder trim

Discussion on keeping your aircraft airworthy and legal and/or any technical topics.

57NC

problem: stuck rudder trim

Post by 57NC »

Hey all,

I'm new to Maules ... recently acquired an M7-235.
After a recent flight, I discovered my rudder trim tab was stuck in position, full deflection off to one side. I'd never even touched the rudder trim adjustment T-handle, so I'm baffled.

On the ground, once discovering it, I tried unlocking and adjusting the T-handle in various ways, tried wiggling the rudder, and tried a bit of pressure by hand on the trim tab. And I can't figure out how to get it unstuck. I hope it's something obvious, but I'm missing it.

Anyone have any ideas what might have happened? And how I go about solving this?

Thanks.

57NC

Post by 57NC »

I'd post some photos, but I can't figure out how.

VA Maule
100+ Posts

Post by VA Maule »

Move the aeloin by hand watch the rudder tab move. ( after you put it back together) It's a servo tab to reduce the effects of adverse yaw and assist keeping coordinated.
The twist lock handle under the Rt. side yoke is spring loaded applying pressure to the Rt. rudder pedal . Pulling it out on takeoff and you don't have to push right rudder nearly as hard.
The best Government, is less Government.

Ron Hallmark

rudder trim tab, "servo tab"

Post by Ron Hallmark »