MX7-180C project

Discussion on keeping your aircraft airworthy and legal and/or any technical topics.

armascher

MX7-180C project

Post by armascher »

A project I couldn't walk away from. 1998 MX7-180C, ground loop to nose over. Purchased on salvage and then sold to me (because I couldn't walk away). Prop strike, motor mount crushed, firewall toast, wings top skin(both), left wing struts, left gear leg and vertical fin damage. Fuselage looks to be in great shape, a scratch on the fabric on top. Small bow in the V-brace portion of the frame directly behind the firewall. I have the wings at a friends shop waiting for the word go to repair. Estimates coming in for a teardown inspection (1000 tt A &E). I live in Idaho and luckily have access to some great mechanics. I'm trying to read up here as I'm new to Maules (200ish tailwheel time between 170 and a kitfox). My plan of attack:

1 -get the engine to the shop and torn down (find out if the crank is good)
2- find a used prop
3- get the fuselage stripped to the front door posts, take it to the fuselage guy for inspection and vertical fin repair
4- wings rebuilt or replaced with used (21k each from factory YIKES)
5- find left gear leg (aluminum spring type)
6- get rid of the 29" Air Hawks and find some tundra tires
100- put it all back together

I'm looking for input on....engine shops, prop types, wing mods or available used wings, gear legs, folks I should call (besides the obvious great people at the Maule Factory) anything else I should be thinking about.
Thanks!

bobguhr
100+ Posts

Post by bobguhr »

You can't go wrong by reaching out to Wup Winn in Joseph,Oregon.
http://www.backcountryconnection.com/about/

armascher

Post by armascher »

There is a chance I could get a hold of some airworthy M-4 wings (30'10") for a good price and utilize the money I save to purchase an O-540. Any thoughts on putting the shorter wing on the MX-7? I believe Maule has Mod kit(drawings) available.

crbnunit
100+ Posts