One Wing Low

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
wredick

One Wing Low

Post by wredick »

After owning my M7 for a few years and logging several hundred hours, it begs me to ask this question. The right wing is always heavy. Control inputs require left aileron all the time. I always burn out of the right tank first and that helps. Is there some way to warp the wing to correct this? I don't have an autopilot so after an hour or so, my hand gets tired to holding the correction. Jeremy, what do you think? Anyone else, please help.
William H Redick

TxAgfisher
100+ Posts

Post by TxAgfisher »

Probably in the aileron rigging. I'm not an expert but I think there are turnbuckles you can adjust.
TJ Van Matre

Mog
100+ Posts

Post by Mog »

To parrot what has been said here before, check that you don't have nests etc inside the wing if you can't find the issue in the rigging.

Chris in Milwaukee
100+ Posts

Re: One Wing Low

Post by Chris in Milwaukee »

wredick wrote:After owning my M7 for a few years and logging several hundred hours, it begs me to ask this question. The right wing is always heavy. Control inputs require left aileron all the time.
I have the same problem. It's going in for annual next week. While things are apart, I may go through the rigging section of the service manual.
Christopher Owens
1993 MX-7-180A
Members: AOPA EAA VAA

wredick

Post by wredick »

If I re-rig the ailerons, I have the same problem, right wing heavy. With the ailerons deflected to the left, I lose true airspeed due to the extra drag.
William H Redick

TxAgfisher
100+ Posts

Post by TxAgfisher »

If you are flying straight and level with the left input already, why would you lose TAS when rigged that way?

Have you weighed the airplane? How is your balance left and right? Which side is the battery on?
TJ Van Matre

wredick

Post by wredick »