Oil pressure Gauge movement

Discussion on keeping your aircraft airworthy and legal and/or any technical topics.

billyod

Oil pressure Gauge movement

Post by billyod »

My Oil pressure gauge (non-electric) works fine on startup until about 20 in of manifold, then as oil temp rises and we go full forward throttle, the needle starts rapidly deflecting from middle of green past redline...we have tested oil pressure directly from engine, bled the line, changed out orpheus, and even changed out the spring in the oil relief...

Nobody including Maule seems to have one of these Rochester gauges to replace in the cluster. i have a JPI 700 but of course it is not legal as a primary, so need to replace/fix this issue...not to mention i fly over mountains in the west and IFR in Wisconsin in the summer, so don't really like looking at that gauge as an ocd pilot...

p.s. - I am not a mechanic by any means

Any ideas, help or better yet...anyone have one of these gauges laying around???

i have a video of it live if anyone is that interested...

thank you
billy
Billy O'D
1995 M7-235B
Wisconsin / Montana

Curtis
100+ Posts

Oil pressure gauge

Post by Curtis »

Aerospace Logic oil pressure and oil temp TSO'd Part # 10-04465
Curtis

gbarrier
100+ Posts

Post by gbarrier »

It's a lot of money since you have already invested in the 700 but if you could sell it and install a 900 which is primary you can blank out that whole original cluster.

Henry L. Heaberlin
100+ Posts

Rochester gauge

Post by Henry L. Heaberlin »

It might be worth a call to Air Parts of Lockhaven to see if they can repair the gauge unit for you. They have done some for me in the past. They show up in an internet search or in Trade A Plane... Good luck. Henry

riverbuggy
100+ Posts

Post by riverbuggy »

Air Parts of Lockhaven has helped me out with my Rochester gauge cluster.
Ray
1970 M4-220C N2056U

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »