Recent going rate for an M4-220C and MI members...

Trigear? Taildragger? Fixed pitch prop? Which Engine? ...anything related with model selection considerations and questions about buying a Maule
PaulMaul

Recent going rate for an M4-220C and MI members...

Post by PaulMaul »

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this forum and new to flying (I'm still a student pilot with about 20 total hours). I've been looking for a plane since I started my training and have pretty much decided on an M4. The other top contender is a Pacer, but I hate the lack of pilot-side door, and hardly any Pacers out there are IFR. Then there's the fact that if I get a Pacer, I'm just going to want to upgrade to a Maule down the road anyway...

In the past few months of searching for planes, I had a line one one M4 that was sold by the time I contacted the seller, and there is one other that has been for sale for a few months. The price has come down a little over that time to $39900. I'd like to make the seller an offer, but since I haven't been watching the market long enough to see a few sales, I have no idea what a fair asking price is. The plane is on Barnstormers, and it's the only M4 on there right now.

I'd also like to know if anyone knows anyone near or in Michigan with Maule experience that can do a pre-purchase inspection on the plane....

Thanks for the assistance :D

PaulMaul

Post by PaulMaul »

I just read the AvWeb article posted in another thread in this subforum about tailwheel Maules. It says:

"Prices range up to $32,000 for a 1973 M-4-220C. The first M-5s run from around $34,000 with the first Lycoming O-540 variant about $39,000."

Is that fairly representative of the market?

By the way, I'm based in Chicago and would be very interested in connecting with other members around here. I think I'll be based out of KLOT.

FARMAULE
100+ Posts

Post by FARMAULE »