New here, hello and looking for advice on my options.

Trigear? Taildragger? Fixed pitch prop? Which Engine? ...anything related with model selection considerations and questions about buying a Maule
DavidB.

New here, hello and looking for advice on my options.

Post by DavidB. »

Hello Everyone,

I'm new here. I am a private pilot with 300 hours PIC, tail dragger endorsement with about 100 hours in a Sport Cub, some Carbon Cub time, and a bit of PA-18 time. I am also an A&P mechanic and have a hangar with no airplane in it.
Until recently I my employer let me fly a Carbon Cub sometime, and provides a Sport Cub to rent at a very low rate to employees. I am moving on from this job, so that is ending.

I will buy an airplane this summer. I will probably buy a Maule, but I am not set on it. Here is my mission profile:

Home is 3500 paved at 1350 MSL with DA ranging from 600 to 5000 through out the year.

We have about 6 weeks of IMC weather in the winter, but above 3000 feet its clear and sunny. Many airports I would go to are VFR when we are socked in.

No kids, light weight wife, 2 50 pound dogs, I like bicycles and camping.

Common quick flights will be to 27W which is a 20 minute flight, 2700 grass with 100 foot trees all around it, DA issues when it's hot (2000 MSL) and nasty winf above the trees.

Stehikan. Another longer grass strip.

Cross Countries to Idaho and all the not too gnarly stuff like JC, as well as exploring and fishing areas of the Oregon and Nevada desert.

Today I have 30K in the bank. If I wait, I may have 75K, or something may come up and I will have less than 30K, but it's looking good to have 75K to spend this summer.