m5 front seats

Mods, approval, 337's, STC's, fun with the Feds.
GOAZ

m5 front seats

Post by GOAZ »

i'm not sure if this subject as been wroten about!
i am new to this
here is my problem, i really have alot of frustation taking the seats out and also putting them back, i'm wondering if they've been bent or something during a removal!
sliding the seats is even worst!

can i change the seats and/or the atatchment systems completely !
where can i order new seats??
thanks

akholland
100+ Posts

Post by akholland »

I was looking at a pacer the other day and looking at my m5 and the seat sliders are relatively the same except for one difference. The slider guide on the pacer was about 4 inches long and the guides on the cross tube for the maule were only an inch long so it seemed that the maule could get cockeyed. anyways take your seat out and wire brush and clean the slides and lube them up? Make sure the seat attach bracket bolts aren't so tight that they cant pivot? I'm not a big fan of the design because if you dont get the keeper pin in the hole the seat could slide back during flight and uhoh

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »

The seats cannot get bound up during fore and aft motion as the four bolt truss at the back prevents this from happening.
The seats cannot slide back beyond the guides as the seat rails have a stop welded across. There is a SB regarding this inspection because a couple of stops were left off in manufacturing.
CHECK all SL and SBs pertaining to the model of Maule. They can be retrieved from Maule's website and SHOULD ALL be documented in the maintenance paperwork of the plane.
The seats cannot slide forward off the tracks if the stop bolts and/or spring loaded pin on right seat of M4 and M5 and some MX7-180s are in place.
Jeremy
www.maules.com
Maule AK Worldwide

crbnunit
100+ Posts

Post by crbnunit »