new maule pilot insurance premiums

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
29singlespeed

new maule pilot insurance premiums

Post by 29singlespeed »

Working on trying to buy a 74 M5-220c.. granted I am a low time TD pilot, but did not expect a $3200 quote. Hull value of 50k They are working on other options.

What have other low time TD new Maule owners been paying for first year premiums? I am also a CFI/I Multi rated between 400-500 hrs -- so yes low time all around.

8714yy

Post by 8714yy »

That would be right in line. I purchased an M-4 last year and paid almost 4000 for the year. I had no TW time but thousands of hours in helicopters, instructor, instrument, etc, etc and 100 hrs of fixed wing. I now have over 100 of TW in the M-4 and pay just under 3k/yr. once I hit 200hrs TW it will go down to just over 2k/yr and that is the lowest it will go with 35K hull and 1500 deduct in flight.
David Allen

Maule988ms
100+ Posts

Post by Maule988ms »

I am holding a paper from Travers and Associates for an insurance quote of 1,244 for an annual premium. That also covers ski operations. Full coverage for 60,000 hull value. I was amazed because I was previously quoted really high rates also. I have 850+ hours and 800 of those were tailwheel. But I just have ppl. I have a friend that has also been quoted good rates with far less tailwheel time. I was sure to go over the numbers with them again and it came out the same. Good luck.

Maule988ms
100+ Posts

Post by Maule988ms »

Whoops, that was for a 88 MX7 180 if that makes a difference.

Lawleraero

Post by Lawleraero »

Three Maule wrecks in a week last month probably won't help!!

Andy Young
100+ Posts

Post by Andy Young »