Maule vs. Bearhawk (plus newbie intro)

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
willisbr

Maule vs. Bearhawk (plus newbie intro)

Post by willisbr »

Hi all. This is my first post on here so allow me to introduce myself. I live in Florida at J22-Ranch (16FL). I am a gyroplane sport pilot, only rating. My neighbor has a MT7-235 Maule and has gifted the FW bug to me. My wife and daughter love to fly in our gyro and we love to travel so naturally a plane is in our future. That and I have 1500 more sq/ft of hangar space to fill. That's how it works right? :)

Anyway, I'm impressed with the Maule. I have also looked at the Bearhawk because I like this STOL stuff being a gyro guy. I like the Maule's five seat. I have a small fam of four so this would allow me to throw a friend in as well depending on usable load. My purposes are not that demanding. There aren't tha many creekbeds or mountains nearby that say "hey you need a bush plane"...but I'm from Alaska and it's kinda in my blood. I would like to know I have STOL if I need it. And when I venture outside of town for that long weekend to who knows where. I would like something I could go on a reasonable long distance CC regularly and it not be a burden. Something like Tennessee or Georgia from the Pensacola, Florida area.

Lastly, I had planned on looking at tri gear but have since been convinced tail dragging is what I want. Especially if I'm going to plant down on a beach or river bed. I plan to train in a Champ or something comparable and then get crossover Maule training. Then off to market to find me my plane.

I appreciate any comments and suggestions. As I said, I'm new to FW and Maule, period. So a moderator dumbed down reply would not be taken wrong. :). Thanks all.

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »

Welcome to Maule world Willisbr.
Sounds like you know where your flying future is aimed at.