Maule checkout in CA/NV?

Finding a qualified Maule instructor and mechanic in your area. Recommendations, requests etc... Please mention graphic location
Jon

Maule checkout in CA/NV?

Post by Jon »

Hi there,
I recently purchased an M-5 235C and need to learn how to fly it. The insurance requirement is 15 hours dual, 15 hours solo, and I think only 20 landings, but I'd prefer to "train to proficiency", however long that takes.

I'm a student pilot at the moment, but will be taking my checkride in a couple of weeks. All of my training has been tailwheel, so I hopefully won't need too much work in that area, though flaps and the CS prop will be new. Unfortunately, only the chief instructor at my school has the insurance-mandated time in type (25 hours), and he's unavailable for the foreseeable future.

The plane is now parked at Dyer International (2Q9), awaiting its annual, and my preference is to do at least the initial flight training out in that general area (though I currently live in the SF Bay Area) sometime in mid-March, if possible.

So, does anyone know where and whether I might be able to find an instructor who can get me trained up?

Thanks!

--Jon

Hottshot
100+ Posts

Post by Hottshot »

Come see us for a week or two.... 8)

rjb
100+ Posts

Post by rjb »

Jon,

I learned in a Citabria at WVFC. Of the 2005 class summer class of Martin Michaud, one got a 1950's 180, one got a 1990's M7-235, and I got a 2006 MX7-180C.

The 180 wound up getting rebuilt up in Petaluma, the M7-235 was outdoors at KPAO for a while and is now at KHWD, and mine is in a hangar at E16. I flew it back from Moultrie with Martin.

Martin has lots of hours in Maules. Martin will teach out of E16.

Ann Elsbach in Grass Valley has lots of hours in Maules and she checked out a friend of mine in my plane, flying with him all over the state. I don't know whether she still occasionally commutes to KPAO.