Maule Purchase

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
TomS

Maule Purchase

Post by TomS »

Greetings All.

This is my first post as I am a new member. Thanks for hosting such a great forum. It has helped me in a number of ways. I am a relatively new pilot (300+ TT) with about 25 hrs in tailwheel and will be purchasing a maule in the near future.

I am shopping for a M5 180 because of their price to performance, useful load (900-1000) and economy (8-12gph). I've looked at the M5 235's and they are beautiful birds. In fact, I had the chance not too long ago to fly a M7-235. A full stall resulted in a 500 fpm decent. I was impressed and sold on a maule.

Here is where I'd like some feedback. There are a few M5 235's on the market and the price is still within my budget but I am partial to the 180C due to engine rebuild costs and operating costs. Is it worth the jump to the 235 at the cost of 100lbs of useful load and added operating expenses?

Put another way... what is the added value in the 235 over the 180C? If you have flown both, I am particularly interested in your experiences in each.

Thanks,

Tom

rjb
100+ Posts

Post by rjb »

If you are interested in buying a Maule, make contact with Jeremy, since you're on the west coast.

The Maule is a wonderful airplane; insurance for it is expensive. Make sure that is included in your cost calculations. I've been very pleased with Gustafson Insurance support.

In my case, the difference in operating expenses between a 180 and a 235 are overwhelmed by hanger costs, insurance costs, Jeppesen database update costs, etc... Maybe if I could get up to more than 200 hours per year, it would be a significant factor