UL94 vs 100LL

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
cberonio

UL94 vs 100LL

Post by cberonio »

I have an MX7-235 with the io-540-W1A5D and according to Swift fuel STC, it appears this engine and my model aircraft, are eligible.

I am wondering the following:

Has anyone. Gotten the STC, and run the fuel for a while?
Which engines?
What is different from a performance standpoint?
What are the benefits?
What are the downsides?

There are a few areas near me that have banned 100LL and now are only offering 94UL (that’s a whole other topic) and having options is always good.

DeltaRomeo
100+ Posts

Re: UL94 vs 100LL

Post by DeltaRomeo »

While I support the elimination of TEL from avgas, I watch with justifiable concern as to the formulation they come up with to replace the existing universal fuel. I worked in the automotive industry for a couple of decades and saw firsthand what the original formulation of unleaded auto fuels did to the rubber components in cars (ever seen liquified rubber on a fuel pump?). To see that issue manifest itself in aviation would be a serious disaster. Also knowing that the rubber composition of most of our aviation fleet is of that vintage places us at a serious risk. With that said, I also believe that backwards compatibility with our rubber components is a paramount qualification for replacement fuel as a result of what we saw happen to cars in the early 80's. So there is some faith they did consider that. The automotive industry also made modifications to the rubber chemistry in affected fuel system components that hasn't happened in aviation because getting permission to make such a change triggers the STC process for thousands of parts industry wide (what a cluster that would be...).