Trim elevator on landing or not

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
plowboy

Trim elevator on landing or not

Post by plowboy »

I saw on another post a Maule flyer bragging that as he had full down trim on the elevator it worked like a flap hanging down. I have also heard that one is not to use the trim tab on landing as it looses you elevator surface at low speed, just when you need it most. So from the experts here which is it, adjust the trim on landing or muscle it.

andy
Site Admin

Re: Trim elevator on landing or not

Post by andy »

The problem with using trim on landing is that you will run out of elevator effectiveness just when you need it. I set my elevator trim for level flight in the pattern and don't touch it after that. It requires a little muscle but not long enough to tire you out.
Andy
1986 MX7-180

drak130
100+ Posts

Post by drak130 »

I am by no means an expert. I fly a M7-235 so it tends to be nose heavy when flown solo. As speeds slow enough to 3 point and trimmed for 55mph i would indeed run out of elevator effectiveness. Following advice from other on this site I roll the trim to the takeoff mark on final with much better results. I think someone else said like 1/2 inch nose up from the T/O mark. Wheel landings at a higher speed and less of a pitch change required may not need this technique but i still do it as part of my habit pattern.

andy
Site Admin

Post by andy »