Full flap approach at 60 or less

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
Ian

Full flap approach at 60 or less

Post by Ian »

I've been making consistent short final approaches with full flaps and indicating 55-60 mph. Airspeed was recently overhauled so I think its OK. Plane feels good and I do not use all elevator trim. Sometimes a shot of power at flare but typically just flares smoothly to ground. This is with me and inboard tanks only.

What are some of your best slowest approaches with un modified planes?

Best

Ian
Best Regards

Ian

Skystrider
100+ Posts

Post by Skystrider »

55 to 60 huh! Boy, I don't think I have done better than 65. I just can't get a smooth landing slower than that.
1980 Maule M5-180C
Rod Hatcher

MikeW
100+ Posts

Post by MikeW »

Ian,

I have an M4 210 with a 40 degree flap ratchet and gap seals. Just me and full inboard fuel I will indicate 45 mph on short final. This is smooth air only. I only got comfortable at the slower speeds by doing slow flight at altitude, I would pick my speed and then do 30 degree bank turns in both directions. Even at this speed I usually don't set off my stall warning light during the flare. I do keep power in until I know I have arrested my desent and have made my landing spot. Every plane is a little different. Do your own check at altitude, and take the time to fly an exact speed, don't "ballpark" it.

Mike

Lowflybye
100+ Posts

Post by Lowflybye »

With the different Maule models these numbers are going to vary widely. Short wings, long wings, droop tips, heavy motors, big props, etc.
"To most people, the sky is the limit. To a pilot, the sky is home."

Still a bit cloudy when it comes to aviation insurance? Find some clarity: Clear on Top

N6EA

Post by N6EA »