Throttle technique...

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
chadga

Throttle technique...

Post by chadga »

I'm a wannabe Maule driver that seems to struggle with not having complete control over my throttle. I love the concept of having a vernier throttle, as opposed to a friction lock, but have found myself with power in when I meant to have been at idle for landing. Am I missing something or do I just need more time in airframe? I'm using a "thumb on top" concept for approach power manipulations.
M5-180C
A&P
(802)258-1521

Loogie
100+ Posts

Post by Loogie »

I would just rec to learn to pull that throttle back all the way when starting that flare. If that engine is producing power it should be obvious. Just a matter of practice and discipline to get it right. It should be the exception rather than the norm to land with some juice on the engine. It just sounds like a little bit of practice and mental discipline will get you pulling that throttle to complete idle during the flare. Good luck.
Loogie

TomD
100+ Posts

Post by TomD »

Not sure what the "thumb on top" technique is but I tend to hold the back of the throttle knob between my middle fingers and depress the button w/ my palm. That turns it into a non-vernier throttle for takeoffs and landings.

Down side is blisters early in the season of if I am doing a lot of practice work during a day. Tape and/or glove solves blister problem.

TD

Mountain Doctor
100+ Posts

Post by Mountain Doctor »

The way mine is set up pulling it all the way back gets me about 700-750 RPM.

Turning it counterclockwise about a turn gets me down to 600 or so RPM. The difference matters.

Important to not force it. If there is any resistance to turning don't do it, but with mine there is a little 'slack' that this technique takes up.
I am an AME in Richland, Washington. Please call for an appointment!

560 Gage Blvd.
Richland, WA 99352
(509) 628-2843

xcflyn

Post by xcflyn »