Hg"/Prop RPM ?Curious

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
BudG
100+ Posts

Hg"/Prop RPM ?Curious

Post by BudG »

I'm new at flying a fuel injected IO-54O W1A5D and a Maule. I've got about 80hrs on my M-5 now and just added a JPM-EDM-700 and GAMI injectors and vortex gens with 6.5X6.0 tires. I have been cruising at about 21-22"MP and @2150-2250RPM showing 135mph-140mph air speed at 11-11.5Gal fuel flow at about 8000ft.. My question pertains to the Is this the optimum cruise setup. I can dial it back to 120mph at 21square and get 9.5-10 gal/hr. at 8000ft at 20-25deg.lean of Peak. Am I setting it up properly for faster cruise? I have been playing around with it don't seem to get more than 135-140mph even with the higher fuel flow. I read the stats on an M-5 and understood that the Lunar Rocket got 150mph cruise. Even before the vortex gens I was getting about the same mph.Anyone with thoughts on that and takeoff power settings of 29"hgMP and 2450RPM. I was tought that one doesnt want to run too much MP over RPM.
Tailwinds 2U
BudG :?:

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »

If your outside air temp at 8000msl is 31deg F which is standard, and the barometer 29.92, then 135- 140mph indicated is 156-162mph TAS and 11.5gph is excellent. You would expect an EGT spread of about 70deg before Gami modification.
Given a no wind situation (never happens) your mpg is 13.5-14 at the faster speed and 13.9-14.6 at the lower speed and as drag increases with speed, you would expect less mpg at higher power settings.
The best mpg will usually be achieved at a 55% power setting taken from your Lyc operaters manual graphs.
Jeremy
www.maules.com
Maule AK Worldwide

a64pilot
100+ Posts

Post by a64pilot »