Class B/C operations

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
Paul B

Class B/C operations

Post by Paul B »

I am still new to the Maule. All of my 60 hrs in it so far have been at small pilot controlled airports where I fly tight patterns and usually final is @ 60mph indicated or less. I want to start going to some larger airports and I am wondering if I need to keep higher speeds and shallower approach angles to fit in. What speeds and flaps do more experienced Maule drivers use at the big airports?

YOidaho

Post by YOidaho »

Just fly the same speeds you've been using. Follow the instructions issued by ATC. As for 'fitting in,' if you don't fit into the existing traffic load, you will be made unwelcome. I can't imagine too many class C airports being trouble. They do have their peak density periods. Class B, different story. Primarily high speed and a very high percentage of IFR traffic. Traffic flow into class B is controlled into this airspace with real time monitoring in D.C.

good luck.

Mountain Doctor
100+ Posts

Post by Mountain Doctor »

I have transitioned Class B many times but have never landed at a Class B airport. Unless my motor was getting ready to quit or there was some other urgent/emergent situation I don't picture me landing at SFO or SEA any time soon...

Flying in their space is easy enough just be positive you hear ATC say the magic words, "Clear to enter Class Bravo". Two way communication alone, unlike Class C, is not sufficient.

Class C landings are typically straightforward, if not even easier than uncontrolled airports in as much as your operations, and the operations of others inside their airspace, is controlled, helping out your decision making process.

Also remember your magic words to ATC if you need them (it, really):

"Unable".
I am an AME in Richland, Washington. Please call for an appointment!

560 Gage Blvd.
Richland, WA 99352
(509) 628-2843

Mountain Doctor
100+ Posts