Mt7-260 w/ edo 2790 flying over gross?

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
Turboarrowpilot

Mt7-260 w/ edo 2790 flying over gross?

Post by Turboarrowpilot »

Thinking of puting my maule mt7 260 on a set of edo 2790, having a hard time justifying the usefull load of around 610 lbs, anyone flown a bit over gross at lower elevation lakes,

TomD
100+ Posts

Over gross

Post by TomD »

I am surprised you only get 610 mgw on a M7. My M5 gets at least 100lbs more on Aqua 2400's.

If you accidentally overload your aircraft, I would suggest not mentioning it on a bulletin board or any other digital media.

1's and 0's are forever. Just ask certain Congressmen and/or Enron executives.

UP-M5
100+ Posts

Post by UP-M5 »

i have some 2790 experience while on a 185. they are VERY expensive to maintain, and also very heavy (amphibs, duhhhh). i'm afraid you will end up with a 2 seat maule while on these floats.

i have no experience operating beyond the confines of the type certificate, BUT, on aqua 2400's i regularly depart a 4000 foot long lake with BIIIG trees at both ends AT 2750 lbs (usually measured down to ounces). it is a sporting departure on warm no-wind days, but it is quite do-able.
M5-235

TomD
100+ Posts

floats

Post by TomD »

Sorry did not know the 2790's are amphibs.

I agree w/ UP-M5. A Maule on amphibs is essentially a two person with not much gear bird.

I can dig up my W&B on 2400's but not near my books right now.

With the longer wing and more ponies I would expect the M7 260 go get out pretty smartly on 2400's

TD

wings2water

Post by wings2water »