Three-Point/Wheel Landings Revisited

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
Andy Young
100+ Posts

Three-Point/Wheel Landings Revisited

Post by Andy Young »

I was reading some old posts about landings, which recommended practicing both three-point and wheel landings at all the different flap settings, including -7. I went out and did that today; it was quite fun and interesting. I am new to Maules so it was a good way for me to gain more familiarity with the airplane. By the way, this was in an M-6-235, with the original M-6 wing, droop tips included. Conditions were:
Field Elevation 5288 ft.
Wind: none
Temperature: 0 c
I found all the configurations and landings to be quite straightforward, except wheel landings at 0 and -7 flaps. In those configurations, I had a really hard time landing on the mains only. The deck angle on approach was somewhat nose-high, so any little bit of back-yoke to flair tended to make it want to do a three-point landing. I tried at higher speeds (70 mph over the fence) and even with a fair bit of power in (maybe 1500 rpm) but still about half the time, the tailwheel would touch on landing, sometimes even first. Also, in these no (or negative) flap configurations I was not able to even get close to doing short or precision landings if I wanted them to be smooth (true with three-point as well); I had to carry a bit of power and/or speed to be able to ease it on, and that made for extended landings (up to 1500’ in some cases, threshhold to stop). The goal is to be able to do smooth, short landings with a predictable touchdown point, in any configuration, three-point or wheelie. I know more practice is a big part of the answer, but I also feel like I am missing something on the technique for these 0 and -7 landings; what is it?