Difference between C180 and Maule

Discuss topics related to technique, procedures, and idiosyncrasies of Maule aircraft.
180Driver

Difference between C180 and Maule

Post by 180Driver »

Hi All,

I'm a Cessna 180 Driver with some 1400 hrs in a 180 and 3000 in taildraggers. I've got to ferry a Maule M4 220 down to Haiti at the end of Feb for Air Ambulance work. One of the pilots that I talked to that's flown this Maule tells me it's downright hard to fly and keep co-ordinated. It has big 31" tires on it.

Anybody out there with experience in both that can give me an idea of the difference and what to watch out for and expect? I will be getting time in it before I go.

Thanks,

Cate

Lowflybye
100+ Posts

Post by Lowflybye »

Have any time in a Pitts? That is a good trainer for landing a Maule. :lol:
"To most people, the sky is the limit. To a pilot, the sky is home."

Still a bit cloudy when it comes to aviation insurance? Find some clarity: Clear on Top

180Driver

Post by 180Driver »

Just about everything but a Pitts. Champs, Citabrias, Cubs but no Pitts...

Cate

Lowflybye
100+ Posts

Post by Lowflybye »

It won't behave like a Champ, Citabria, or Cub. Best advice I can give you is to find someone to get you some stick time and get to know it a bit. With your experience you should not have any trouble with it, but there are some nuances that you will want to discover early before you go at it solo or have to face any good crosswinds.

-Don't trim for hands free on final or you can hit the stop and find yourself out of elevator to flair.

- The less flaps the better in a crosswind...I will go 0 flaps in good crosswind conditions.

-That giant tail is like a barn door in the wind so taxiing can be fun

-The front seats are fiberglass so do not put weight on the top of the seat-back when entering and exiting.

Others will comment with good advice as well, but a bit of stick time with a good Maule driver should tell you all you will need to know.