M-5 flap uplock

Discussion on keeping your aircraft airworthy and legal and/or any technical topics.

waxer

M-5 flap uplock

Post by waxer »

First of all I'm a rookie to the world of Maules, actually to GA. My M-5 left flap was flapping all over in the hold short in gusty conditions. After the flight I could grab the flap itself and extend to the full down position. The right flap appears to have an unlock that prevents this.
Is there something I can tell my mech to steer him in the right direction?
Thanks, Chris

freedom
100+ Posts

Post by freedom »

Have a look above the inspection hole, there is the retaining mechanism for the flaps. It is one for the left and a separate one for the right, so it could be one wing needs adjustment.
You will be recommended to remove the retaining mechanism, but they all out flying, this forum gets very quiet in summer.

Duane
100+ Posts

Post by Duane »

There is a locking half in each wing. It is very common for those to get bent. The earlier ones weren't as thick as the later ones. This was done in '99. As Freedom said, most people have removed them and replaced with a flap limit cable. Your choice.

waxer

Post by waxer »

Great, thanks. Passed the info to my mech waiting for the verdict.

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »

Waxer, there are flap up return springs that become stretched and do not hold flap in Up position. Low cost so replacement is advised.
The replacement of a flap down limit cable instead of the automatic lock will prevent stretching the spring Plus flap contact with rear window Plus the flap down angle will be better achieved.
Jeremy
www.maules.com
Maule AK Worldwide

TomD
100+ Posts

Post by TomD »

Waxer;

Everything Jeremy said and if you use the flap limit cable the uplock mechanism will not be there trying to get on the outside of your wing.

The top wing of my M5 was beat to hell from the inside by the bleeping uplock mechanism before I replaced it with limit cable on advice from Jeremy.