Tail wheel vs tri gear?

Trigear? Taildragger? Fixed pitch prop? Which Engine? ...anything related with model selection considerations and questions about buying a Maule
mburkhart

Tail wheel vs tri gear?

Post by mburkhart »

I'll be honest. I'm a fairly new pilot and am looking into purchasing my first Maule. I have very minimal tail wheel time and am contemplating between the tail wheel version or the tricycle gear. I would love to hear some personal pros and cons about each version and if you had to purchase again what configuration would you buy and why? and if anyone would ever be around the Phoenix area willing to give a demo. That would make my year!

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »

Its an old 'saw', however spend the energy to learn tailwheel and it will make you a more aware and capable pilot.
Taildragger versions have less drag thus a tad faster and lighter thus less mpg and can accommodate large types so can land in softer rougher ground,
IF you want to do that.
Insurance will be a bit more expensive. Especially until you gain some time.
Jeremy
www.maules.com
Maule AK Worldwide

chazdevil
100+ Posts

Another facet

Post by chazdevil »

If you have any desire in flying conventional geared aircraft, go tailwheel now. The longer you fly nosedraggers, the harder the transition to TW aircraft. Going from TW to trike is a no-brainer. The insurance metric will punish you if you accumulate lots of trike time and then want to go conventional. I've a hanger neighbor who couldn't practically get insurance in a TW since his 1100 hours were all trike.
Besides, people always think you're a better pilot if you can "master" one of those pesky tail draggers.
HA!
Chaz
79 M5 235Turbo

mburkhart

Post by mburkhart »