Lets do this

Trigear? Taildragger? Fixed pitch prop? Which Engine? ...anything related with model selection considerations and questions about buying a Maule
Hooker

Lets do this

Post by Hooker »

I am in the beginning stages of searching for/buying my first airplane and to be more specific , it's going to be a Maule. I have my search narrowed down to the M(X)7-180 or an M7-235. I keep bouncing back and forth between performance and useful load, but that is not why I am writing to you all.

I would like this process to be as smooth and seemless as possible. I would also like to have everything ready to go so I can pull the trigger at a moments notice if and when the right Maule pops up. I am also realistic in that i know issues will pop up. I am not in any hurry to purchase(thats a lie, I want a Maule and I want it now). But more realistically it will be 6 months to a year. Since I am new to this process any tips, suggestions on down payments, financing, insurance, pre-buy inspections, and anything else you can think of would be much appriciated

rjb
100+ Posts

Post by rjb »

Contact Jeremy (MauleAK) and see if it makes sense to you to work with him.

Mountain Doctor
100+ Posts

Post by Mountain Doctor »

+1 on Jeremy. :D

As an owner of a 180 HP Maule, who lives close to and and flies in some of the highest mountains in the Lower 48, I totally wish I had more HP and if I had to do it over again I'd want an IO-540.

In Nebraska I bet 180 HP would be fine, but it depends on your needs and mission. Even out here it's fine, my Maule has taken me all over the country for the past 1,100 hours safely.

Remember you can run a powerful engine at a low power setting and reduce burn, but there is no way to get more pull out of a 4 cylinder once it's firewalled.

In the mountians, Power=Safety (improvement).
I am an AME in Richland, Washington. Please call for an appointment!

560 Gage Blvd.
Richland, WA 99352
(509) 628-2843

Tomkatz
100+ Posts

Post by Tomkatz »