Opinions Wanted

Trigear? Taildragger? Fixed pitch prop? Which Engine? ...anything related with model selection considerations and questions about buying a Maule
lmasser

Opinions Wanted

Post by lmasser »

I am looking for opinions on the "right" airplane for my situation. I am a low time private pilot with experience in 172s and Archers (no tail dragger time). My goal is to fly in and out of our cental PA farm. We have room for a 1600 foot grass strip. I've never flown a Maule , but performance specs seem to indicate that a Maule is the right plane for me. What should I look for in the different models? I am definitely in the used market and cannot justify new. I am not IFR rated, but would like to learn. Most of my flying would be recreational with some longer trips to look at equipment or fetch repair parts for the farm. I appreciate any advice or tips you can provide. I'd also love to bum a ride in a Maule if anyone nearby is interested. Thanks for your help!

MauleMechanic
100+ Posts

Re: Opinions Wanted

Post by MauleMechanic »

lmasser wrote:I am looking for opinions on the "right" airplane for my situation. I am a low time private pilot with experience in 172s and Archers (no tail dragger time). My goal is to fly in and out of our cental PA farm. We have room for a 1600 foot grass strip. I've never flown a Maule , but performance specs seem to indicate that a Maule is the right plane for me. What should I look for in the different models? I am definitely in the used market and cannot justify new. I am not IFR rated, but would like to learn. Most of my flying would be recreational with some longer trips to look at equipment or fetch repair parts for the farm. I appreciate any advice or tips you can provide. I'd also love to bum a ride in a Maule if anyone nearby is interested. Thanks for your help!
We all have biased opinions...lol