Florida tour...

NEW Section:
Post and find topics related to Airports, airparks and flying destinations to the section...
Dorian Crook

Florida tour...

Post by Dorian Crook »

Hello there. I'm a Maule MXT7 owner from the UK and I'm going to do some touring for 4 days in Florida from 18-24 February. Looks like we're going to rent a C172 from Daytona Beach. I couldn't find anywhere to rent a Maule within striking distance of Orlando.
Apart from that,I'm looking for recommendations for places to stop. We're going to Destin and possibly down to Punta Gorda. But apart from that -no plans. We'd like a couple of recommendations of friendly airfields where we can get some lunch halfway through the day, and for the nightstops, somewhere where the hotels aren't too far from the airfield. I would probably avoid the bigger, airline network airports, although I wouldn't rule that out. (Air Traffic Controller by profession, but whether they'll understand my accent is another matter!). Oh, and we like looking at old airplane wrecks. Any recommendations welcome. Thanks, Dorian

captnkirk
100+ Posts

Post by captnkirk »

It's been a long time since I was last there but you might try Cedar Key on the gulf good sea food and I think they still have a hotel there. If you come the week of april 5-10 there is the Sun n Fun flyin in Lakeland. St Augustine is quaint nice beaches and the first settlement in the New World. I'm sure some of the locals (Florida)will have more info.
Kirk Johnson
If god had meant man to fly he would have given him more money

Kirk
100+ Posts

Post by Kirk »

I second Cedar Key. Last I was there the local cab still monitored Unicom and was there to pick us up right away. Good food, a few basic motels there.

Everglades City has the Everglades National Park right next door. A boat tour can be done that is pretty good. Bikes available for rent, decent food in 'town'.