MT-7 235 for a family plane?

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
NWBrit

MT-7 235 for a family plane?

Post by NWBrit »

Hello,

I’m a new pilot looking to buy my first plane to haul around our family of 4 (3 & 6 yr old) on some fun adventures. The majority of the time we’ll be landing on pavement but love the option of backcountry camping/hiking/fishing trips.

Can anyone speak to or have experience with a tricycle Maule as a family plane? Seems like I would have to be conservative with fuel (not fill up 70 gals) and keep an eye on how much crap we allow the kids to bring. The only other plane that seems to make sense for us would be a 182 but they are so overpriced and I’m not sure we would gain much on the useful load.

Thanks!!

andy
Site Admin

Re: MT-7 235 for a family plane?

Post by andy »

I've flown 182S and 182T airplanes for NC Forest Service. The seats are a bit more comfortable than my MX-7-180 but that they don't have a very large baggage door like the Maules do. It's hard to get oversized items like folding bicycles or large bins in and out, although the baggage area is pretty large. Insurance should be comparable on a nose wheel Maule vs. a C182 but Cessna parts are expensive. I would be more inclined to land off-airport with the Maule because the nose wheel is stronger. The 182 has about 200 lbs more of useful load but that might vary depending on how it is equipped. I really hate the lap belt retractor reels on the 182. When you use a seat cushion, they lock up and gradually strangle you until you have to release and re-attach them in flight. I also prefer the manual flap control on the Maules to the electric flaps on the 182. Manual flaps respond quicker and have fewer maintenance problems due to lack of a motor.