STOL -- 180 HP vs 260 HP

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
Norm

STOL -- 180 HP vs 260 HP

Post by Norm »

Ok, I'm new to Maules and I'd like to ask a basic Q.

I'm hearing from some people that the 180 HP Maules seem to have a better reputation for short TOs as compared to the 6 cyclinder Maules. The reasoning is that the 6 cyc Maules weigh more and are nose heavy....

Limiting the discussion to the tailwheel Maules, are the 180 HP Maules the trick Maule to have for the shortest TOs? We all know Greg in BRLP uses an experimental "180" HP (but it's modified to actually make more HP as I recall).

I have an M7 260 and the simple math seems to favor it for a really short TO. However, with equalivant payloads, does the 180 HP get off terra firma shorter than the 6 cyc Maules, but once off the ground the 6 cyclinders will have a better ROC to altitude? ?

THANKS
Former CFII
Sold my 2001 M7 260C
I wasn't ready to say goodbye:
www.shaunlunt.typepad.com

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »

Norm, a little crossing of signals re weights.
The MX7-180A fixed pitch is 2400lbs gwt,
the MX7-180B and C constant speed are 2500lbs gwt
the M7-235 and 260 B and C are 2500lbs gwt
The bigger 6 cyl engines are heavier than the 4 cyl 180hp
and the 260 is heavier than the 235hp thus useful loads are highest in the lightest engine/prop configuerations.
If all are flown at gross, the bigger hp performs best, IF it has the best matched prop, however at sealevel it is hard to discern a takeoff advantage for the 260 over the 235. At 2500ft and above, you start to see a little difference and at higher altitudes the difference improves.
At the same load of pilot and half fuel in each, the differences between all models would be slightly different than all at gross, but the bigger horsepowers (again with best prop) would perform best.
In landing, the lighter gross landing weight will land the shortest.