oil temp in winter

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
shortline

oil temp in winter

Post by shortline »

Hello,
does anyone know the best way to raise the oil temp in my M7-235 b while winter flying in maine? right now it's barely getting into the bottom of the green/

Norm

Post by Norm »

I have an M7 260 and I just put some strips of duct tape over the leading portion of NACA vent that goes to the oil cooler. Keep adjusting the amount you cover up to get the temp where you want it. I think we need to be careful when OAT warms up to be sure to remove some of the tape on the cowling / vent.

shortline

Post by shortline »

thanks for the advice, but whats and NACA vent?

a64pilot
100+ Posts

Post by a64pilot »

Something you don't have, but duct tape is the easiest solution.

Norm

Post by Norm »

I'm new to Maules so I'm not positive your 235 uses this type of vent for the oil cooler like my 260 does, but a NACA vent looks something like this: (this is a pic that illustrates the basic shape)

Basically a NACA scoop is a recessed vent that aerodynamically draws air into it from the surface boundary layer air stream with very little penalty of drag.

You'll have to know how your oil cooler receives outside air. On mine the NACA vent that draws in cool air to the oil cooler is on the right side of the cowling.

xwildcat
100+ Posts

Post by xwildcat »

Yep, you need to limit the air flow to the oil cooler. My RV4 has three different "gates" that rest just in front of the oil cooler and I can change out according to the season. Each one looks like Swiss cheese with more or fewer holes.

maules.com
100+ Posts

Post by maules.com »

The later Maules have a NACA scoop, and you can block it from the outside. Earlier versions have a screen at the right rear baffle on top of the cylinders and you can build a swing door with control on panel, or block off the air with silver 500mph tape, or a portion thereof.
Jeremy
www.maules.com