For the Franklin Engine Owners

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
senoiaslim

For the Franklin Engine Owners

Post by senoiaslim »

I am new to the Maule Board and I am looking forward to buying my first Maule. My question to the Franklin Owners is this. With that engine, can there be mods done to improve HP and or speed with the engine? I have heards that the engine is lighter than the 235 so that can help, but what else can be done. The other part is if you have problems with the engine is there ample help and support to get the engine running again?
Mark

a64pilot
100+ Posts

Post by a64pilot »

Mark,
I wouldn't do anything to a Franklin, they are a hot rod stock. Beautiful, smooth running engine when they are running. Parts are hard to come by and people with Franklin experience even harder.

MauleWacko
100+ Posts

Post by MauleWacko »

:o
Last edited by MauleWacko on Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rocketman

Post by Rocketman »

I put over 900 hours on my 6A-350 without putting a wrench to it. You run it right and it will serve you well. I changed the oil every three months or 50 hours. Watch out for oil leaks around the accessary case. Let it idol until the oil temp starts to come up. Always run it long enough to get and stay hot for a while. Be sure and know how to lean the mixture correctly.
It's the best horizontal opposed airplane motor ever built.
Do the other guy's have a 6 cylinder engine with over 200hp that can cruse on 8-9 gph. Not sure, but I don't think so.
Real pilots fly airplanes built in Moultrie.
Real good pilots fly yellow airplanes that smell like poison built in Albany.

MauleWacko
100+ Posts

Post by MauleWacko »

Last edited by MauleWacko on Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

senoiaslim

Post by senoiaslim »

Rocketman,