Newbie asks Maule vs C180 and other Q's

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
Jinkers

Newbie asks Maule vs C180 and other Q's

Post by Jinkers »

Hi, I’m new to these boards (and flying for that matter), very nice BBS with lots of good information.

I am a new pilot with 80 hrs TT, 20 hrs TW in a Citabria and I have just started on my complex rating. I have begun looking at purchasing an airplane or partnering. I am looking for a plane that can carry 4 adults or 2 adults and 200-300lbs of gear including a couple of mountain bikes. I live in northern CO along the Front Range and most of my flying will be at higher altitudes so I will need a plane that can carry the load over high passes and operate out of airstrips as high as 10k. I don’t expect to be landing on sand bars or anything like that but dirt and grass fields are likely. A C180 or Maule look like the top choices for the money and what I want to do with it, and it seems like the Maule can be had for a lower cost. I have a few questions though…

First, I’m not a small guy at 6’2” 220 lbs, some of my possible passengers add 2” and 30 lbs to that. How are the Maules for leg and shoulder room?

How easy/hard is it to load and unload passengers and gear?

What is the best model/engine for the price and what I will be using it for? An M5-180 seems to fit but how is the M5-180 engine at altitude?

How do Maules handle mogas?

How difficult is it to find an AE with some expertise in Maules?

I’ve read a lot about the insurance costs for new Maule owners/pilots. What kind of rates are Maule pilots getting after a year or two and a couple hundred incident free hours in their own Maule?

Does anyone know of a CFI with a TW Maule in northern CO? Or even someone who would show me around their airplane, let me sit in it and maybe take a ride as a passenger (I’d pay for fuel of course)?

Anybody know where I can find a Maule buyers guide?